Back Again (again)

Hi all,

Damn. Weird couple of years. But weird in a good way!

Since I last posted, a few things have happened – I finished my MSc by Research thesis (awaiting award), I got a job as a data analyst, and I moved in with my partner. I feel really accomplished, especially the last year. I now have my own R package, am awaiting some avenues for publishing elements of my research project, and I HAVE A GARDEN!

Now I’m not an active student, I don’t know what this blog will become – it originally started off as a way for me to document what I was up to, which is both more interesting and easier to write when you’re a student with no real commitments. However, my passion for biology is one that can’t be quashed. I will always be interested in the living world, and I want to write on it.

My current personal projects are:

  • Decorating and developing my home and garden
  • Growing fruit and vegetables
  • Working on my homebrew D&D campaign setting

With a few more squished in when I can – for example, I would like to keep chipping away at Blender and maybe start up some Unity work again to learn GameDev. My D&D setting has sort of spiralled out of control, to the point where I now wonder if it could be a fun project to turn it into an actual GAME game.

Anyway, below I’ve thrown together some pictures of my recent adventures, as well as creative works (both physical and digital).

Oh, I also designed and built a desk out of scaffolding. The room was messy as hell during construction, so I’m not posting that, but you can have the model!

Sits 3 people, cost about £300 – not bad!

My partner and I were talking about what was important to us the other night, and I realised something that’s always been important to me is having (or developing) at-least an entry-level understanding of most skills. I love being unrestricted, and building this desk, working on my house and garden, being out in nature – all of it – I feel is me very much living to the fullest.

Til the next one!
Andrew.

Leave a comment